I was asked this in PM… but of course I want everyone to see, so I’m sharing here. Most of this has been said throughout the forums, but I want it to be in a central place.
Please feel free to add more tips, just make sure its 3 at a time as it will make you really thing the things that were most important.
1. FOCUS… pick an offer (that is converting for others) and a traffic source (the major ones you’ve seen affs use) and MAKE it work. Basically become a user of the ad network you want to use and see what others are running. Once you see something for some time just run that offer, but with your own angle,demo,etc.
2. Make sure every dollar you spend you’re gathering vital data to help you get profitable. Your tracking needs to set up correctly don’t just go shooting in the dark. Don’t test too many variables at once because it will require a huge budget to get statistically significant data.
3. Launch and then launch some more. Some guys spend weeks on an LP then they launch and it tanks. AM is a numbers game. If you launch 10 ultra targetted campaigns per day (but still focused on 1 traffic source and 1 offer) and give them enough spend to get good data I promise you will find something profitable in a week or two, if not I will refund your money..j/k
4. There are no "secrets" that instantly make all campaigns profitable.
5. Good affiliate managers and ad reps make one hell of a difference (if one isn’t working for you, ask for another).
6. Your first campaigns shouldn’t be in the weight loss/diet pill niche
7. You should join Stack That Money forum before anything from 1-6 above.
8. Spending $25 on a traffic source isn’t grounds for screaming that it sucks and moving around.
9. Making money is great. Losing money is still great. Even if you don’t make a profit, you gain data, which will bring you closer to being profitable with that traffic and offer.
10. 10+ hours a day reading forums and blogs isn’t the same as working 10+ hour days.
dont give up !! i havenot made my 1st profitable campaign, but testing offers every day ! cheers !
11. There is no way you can figure it all out at once. Implement as much as you can until you get stuck. Then figure out how to get unstuck. Repeat.
12. Make simple cheat sheets for anything you are going to do more than once. Update them as you learn how to be more efficient.
this is speaking to me…
1. Understanding The Lifetime Value of a Customer
Summary: By delaying the sales process and building a relationship you build "equity" that will pay you over and over.
>> Send paid traffic first to an opt-in page to get the visitor on your list
>> Have an autoresponder that shares some "real value" content with them to actually HELP them
>> Build trust with your subscribers and only choose quality offers to promote to them
2. Really Understand Your Audience/Customer
Summary: The better you understand the demographics and psychographics of the customer you are targeting the better your marketing will work.
Here’s a link to a video where I explain this in detail
note: at the bottom of the video there is a link to a worksheet that you can print out
(I thankfully learned this from Eben Pagan and it made a HUGE difference for me).
3. Promote Recurring Offers
Summary: Promoting offers that pay you a recurring commission will make you A LOT more money.
A game changer for me was when I started focusing on promoting offers that paid me recurring commissions. It can be a little more difficult to sell offers that are tied to a membership or some kind of continuity
program but once you figure out how to sell these offers you will see a lot more money.
Another tip along these lines are to find offers that will pay you instant commissions. Check out RAP Bank as an example. I promote many offers that will pay me instant commissions directly to my PayPal account plus pay me 100% commissions. When you get paid 100% commissions you have more money to spend to get traffic.
Those are three massive marketing tips I wish I knew when I started.
P.S. A bonus tip is — Promote High Ticket Items. I’ve made more money from selling a few high ticket offers then a full years worth of small affiliate offers I promoted. Seriously… Find high ticket items to promote.
Good tips here! In the beginning I didn’t use any tracking whatsoever so optimization was almost entirely impossible. I developed a simple script a bit ago that almost instantly turned me into profit and ever since then I understood the importance of analytivcs to campagins.
thanks for all the great tips
Thanks, tracking is definitely impt. I feel that one more point should be added: that is to push harder and work smarter after each day’s tracking.
This might be a dumb question but on point 1: "become a user of the ad network you want to use and see what others are running."
For example if you’re running on Facebook, use facebook. Running on POF, use POF
If you’re running traffic on a DSP look at your placements and download the apps.
If you’re running pop install the toolbar or whatever crap that traffic comes from.
ok as I thought. Just checking there wasn’t a smarter way! I’m working with a DSP so will look at the placements.
How big a budget do you need to be able to do that? I’m following The Mobile Cookbook: The Appetiser guide at the moment. That’s 8 banners, 4 campaigns, 1.5 CPA for each. So for $1 offer that’s 8 * 4 * 1.5 = 48. So 10 campaigns means a testing budget $480 (for $1 payout), am I right? For a $10 offer I’d need a testing budget $4,800? And this is just for direct linking. If I test for example two landing pages I’d need to multiply this twice.
Sorry, if this is a silly question. I just want to really understand this. At the moment I’m following The Appetiser guide and choosing just one angle. But I have NO idea which one of my 10 angles I came out is the best. And maybe all my 10 angles are crap and I’d blown out my entire testing budget and had to find more angles…
Am I right or am I missing something?
The Article Published IN 06-06-2011 01:40 AM